If You’re Happy and You Know It

Come on, get happy.

What made you smile today?

It is ten days into the new year and I’m still writing each day. My resolution was to do more, but I really wanted to create a habit of writing. I’ve read that it takes between 21-28 days to form a habit. I think it is easier to kick a bad habit in that many days but to acquire a good habit it should take longer. Another article states that in order for a good habit to stick 66 days are needed. Hogwash, maybe.

Some advice to try is tackling a small habit instead of a larger goal. I’m trying to increase my writing output. I want to develop a habit of writing every day. So instead of focusing on writing daily I am developing the small habit of getting on my computer and online. So I feel accomplished by just opening up my laptop. I don’t have to write, but it’s already open and ready so a little more effort won’t hurt.

Ten days in and I still feel motivated to write, I know toward the end of the month I might be struggling with this but I will still be accomplishing my small habit of logging on each day.

Any habits you’ve formed or given up? Best advice you have for others?

If You’re Happy and You Know It

Leave a Reply

