Life, not just a board game

What are you looking for from life?

I have a plan. It won’t be as detailed as in my head but this is the general idea. The end of my life, whenever I decide I’m old enough and want to retire, will be spent in the Pacific Northwest. I’ll be spending my time in the beautiful city of Seattle or Portland. I can’t decide and love them both.

30307_404358225670_2348414_n

Before I settle on the West Coast I’ll spend some time in one of my favorite cities. Chicago is the best of the east and west. It has that Midwest charm and is like NYC’s cousin or a hybrid of NYC and LA. I have visited almost half the major cities of the US and Chicago is still in my top 3.

chi

I am currently on the East Coast and love it. Everything is so close and everything started here. I am fascinated by the history that surrounds me. I want to continue to live around these parts until my head is full of gray hair or I see it all. I would love to live a few years in each of the following cities:

  • Boston
  • NYC
  • Atlanta
  • Philadelphia
  • Indianapolis

As you can tell I’d love to clone myself so that I can be everywhere at once. I want to experience America from sea to shining sea. I’m not sure of the statistic these days but most Americans don’t travel that far from home or where they were born. I’d rather look under every rock of this nation than put down roots and live in one place for too long.

So my plan includes a lot of moving, but I also expect from life a continued passion for the written word. One day I will have a room devoted to books as lovely as this one in our nation’s capitol.

loc

I’m not asking much from the universe. I want a life full of travel, access to the fictional worlds, and a bottomless cup of hot coffee.

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.

–Steve Jobs

Life, not just a board game

Leave a Reply

