Television and whatnot

The Largest TV

I am tell you, weird writing prompts.

In my house (I live with my sister) I own zero television sets. There are 4 TVs in the house with the largest at 60″. The big TV is great but watching movies on the other sets has been spoiled by the specs of the big TV. I am not into all the bells and whistles of electronics, as long as it does it’s job it is good enough for me, but my brother-in-law has an affinity to the Samsung brand. Practically every electronic is the house is a Samsung. The large TV is impressive but I watch Netflix on my Kindle, so I really am not the person to ask about this.

So new topic.

Truth or Hope

Tonight I was watching one of my favorite programs from across the pond and one of the characters said the line, “better to deal with the harsh truth than a false hope.” And it struck me as an interesting idea, does the population fall into only one of either category or is there a gray area where truth and hope can coexist.

Would you rather (love WYR questions) always hear the truth or hang on to the idea of “what if’s” or “maybe’s”?

I am not really sure which I would choose. I think it depends on the situation. Of course, I always think I would choose truth but sometimes it is not necessary to be hurtful. I am a firm believer in the adage, if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all. But of course, it comes down to the situation.

“The truth is rarely pure and never simple.”
Oscar Wilde, The Importance of Being Earnest

“They say a person needs just three things to be truly happy in this world: someone to love, something to do, and something to hope for.”
Tom Bodett

Television and whatnot

Leave a Reply

