Top Ten Tuesday, Inspiring Quotes

ttt

Top Ten FIVE Inspiring Quotes from Books

The topic this week from The Broke and the Bookish is a tough one. So many books have great lines and memorable dialogue, but which to choose. One feature I love (and sold me on reading eBooks) about my Kindle is the highlighting/note option. The thought of writing in a book used to terrify me but with an eBook it is manageable. I highlight things that make me laugh or witty words, sometimes even things to ponder later or share with a friend. Now on to the list of quotes.

“The mind is not a book, to be opened at will and examined at leisure…” Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, J.K. Rowling

One thing I love about the Harry Potter series are the memorable quotes. There are times that I wish my mind were like a library because I have a terrible memory.

“I regret that it takes a life to learn how to live.” Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Jonathan Safran Foer

“It was not the feeling of completeness I so needed, but the feeling of not being empty.” Everything Is Illuminated, Jonathan Safran Foer

Foer has three quotes in my top ten list on Goodreads. These two are my favorites. Both are about living life which is something I over analyze. One of my goals is to adopt the lifestyle of carpe diem. I think that living in the moment will cut the stress out of my life and help me to value the present.

“We accept the love we think we deserve.” The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky

I read this book at exactly the right time to fully appreciate it. This quote stayed with me for months after finishing the novel. I have never thought about love in these terms but feel this rings true for me.

“Books are to me as homemade tattoos are to an inmate. Can’t get enough of them.” I Love Everybody, Laurie Notaro

I love Notaro. Her humor speaks to me and I always laugh when reading her work.


I only chose five quotes instead of ten because there are so many inspiring words out there and the five above are my current favorites from books I have read.

What is your favorite quote from a book you have read?
Top Ten Tuesday, Inspiring Quotes

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday, Inspiring Quotes

Leave a Reply

