Those Girls, A Review

*I received this book from Netgalley free of charge. All opinions are my own. 

Those Girls
Title:

Those Girls

Author:

Lauren Saft

Genre:

Young Adult / Contemporary Fiction

Publication:

June 2015 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Format:

e-book from Netgalley*

Rating:

3 out of 5 stars

Junior year, the suburbs of Philadelphia. Alex, Mollie and Veronica are those girls: they’re the best of friends and the party girls of the school. But how well does everybody know them–and really, how well do they know one another? Alex is secretly in love with the boy next door and has joined a band–without telling anyone. Mollie suffers from a popular (and possibly sociopathic) boyfriend, as well as a serious mean streak. And Veronica just wants to be loved–literally, figuratively, physically….she’s not particular. Will this be the year that bonds them forever….or tears them apart for good?

Lauren Saft masterfully conveys what goes on in the mind of a teenage girl, and her debut novel is raw, honest, hilarious, and thought-provoking, with a healthy dose of heart.

from Goodreads

I read through this pretty quickly, it was an easy read. My curiosity was piqued early on about what would actually happen by the end. I think you either like/tolerate this book or dislike it, there’s not much gray area. This is not a warm, sappy, heartfelt tale and I enjoyed that about this novel.

It has been decades since I could call myself a teenager but the author was able to pull me back into the world of high school and the angst that comes with that territory. I grew up in the Midwest so the problems facing the characters I didn’t necessarily identify with but I know in reality these girls exist.

As much as I hate POV switches in a narrative it really worked in this book. I liked the writing style of the author and the interesting take on female friendships especially the triad relationship. After reading this book I wanted to call my best friend to tell her how much I appreciated her. Those Girls is Mean Girls on crack. The book spans the entire school year and is broken into 6 parts. I wish it was organized better. It didn’t need the extra help in chronology. Overall, it was a read that kept my interest. I wasn’t totally invested in the characters but I was curious about the whole picture. Those Girls is like life, a bit rough around the edges.

I recommend it if you’re currently suffering from a book hangover and need something to shock your system so you can move on.

 
Those Girls, A Review

One thought on “Those Girls, A Review

Leave a Reply

