A Million Miles Away, A Review

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley free of charge. All opinions are my own.

A Million Miles Away
Title: A Million Miles Away
Author: Lara Avery
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publication: Poppy, 2015
Format: eBook
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was surprised by this book, I liked it. I knew little and just started reading one afternoon by the next day I was done. It was a refreshing read, quick and light. I think it helped that the setting was in the Midwest where I am from; it felt like I was reading about someone I knew.

The main character grew with the story, which was a change from what I had been reading. I’m a big believer in the right book at the right time (which is why I read 4-5 books at a time). This novel was at the right time for me. I recommend the purchase or borrowing it. It’s great for a weekend read, on the plane or beach.

Synopsis

From Goodreads (highlight text to read spoilers):

When high school senior Kelsey‘s identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn’t know about the tragedy is Michelle’s boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can’t bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can’t deny that she’s falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn’t want.

A Million Miles Away, A Review

Leave a Reply

