3 Tips for a Book Hangover

bookhangover1There are many more tips (here) out there to help with a book hangover. Time is usually a cure-all. It might take hours, days, or longer but you’ll move on. Depending on the severity of the book hangover I will use a combination of these tips.

  • Read something in a different genre.  I am a mood reader and often juggle more than one book at a time. This is especially true when I am dealing with a book hangover. One easy way I get out of one world and into another is by reading something on the opposite end of the genre spectrum. Sometimes this works and sometimes I have to use multiple tips to move on from a great read.
  • Indulge in reality. It helps to try (for a small amount of time) devoting some time to other hobbies or real world activities. When I’m stuck between books I usually will explore other interests as a way to take my mind off of things or let my thoughts settle. For myself, baking gets my mind back in check.
  • Birds of a feather flock together. Get online and discuss the book with others. Gush over it, dissect it, and get it out of your system. Sometimes it also helps to reread the book or your favorite parts. Or if there’s a movie/television show based on the book you could abandon yourself in that.

Buzzfeed made a pretty good checklist to see if you’re suffering from a book hangover. Go check it out here.

How do you cure a book hangover?
3 Tips for a Book Hangover

4 thoughts on “3 Tips for a Book Hangover

  1. Ahhhhh genius post!
    Book hangovers are the worst…

    Good advice though. I usually just read a book I know i won’t fall in love with… Like a cheesy romance or a lightweight YA.

    1. “we read to know we are not alone” so it always surprises me when readers (myself included) think their reading problems/quirks are theirs alone.

Leave a Reply

