A Not So Short Reading Survey

I grabbed this from Lauren because who doesn’t like a questionnaire now and then. Skim it, steal it, or skip it. Happy reading!

55 Questions for Readers

1. Favorite childhood book: The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams

2. What are you reading right nowJust Listen by Sarah Dessen. My first Dessen (I’m told the first of a soon to be quick obsession).

3. What books do you have on request at the library? Sadly none.

4. Bad book habit? I can’t think of one so I’ll tell you my book pet peeve: mistreatment of books (tearing, misuse, neglect, etc).

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? Nothing.

6. Do you have an e-reader? I own a Kindle Fire. Best birthday gift and makes travel so much lighter.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? I read according to mood, so I usually juggle a few books at a time. I think the most I have juggled is four.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? No, they are different hobbies.

9.Least favorite book you read this year: Probably Grey by E.L. James. I knew it would be terrible and it was. I used it as a book hangover shock treatment.

10. Favorite book I’ve read this year: This year I finally discovered Rainbow Rowell. I’ve read three of her books and loved them.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? Not as often as I would like. I try to read different genres but sometimes I am in the mood for the tried and true.

12. What is your reading comfort zone? I am currently on a young adult spree or coming of age tales.

13. Can you read on the bus? I get motion sickness easily but it depends where I sit and for how long.

14. Favorite place to read: On the beach listening to the waves crash with my toes in the sand.

15. What’s your policy on book lending? I don’t normally, but I am willing.

16. Do you dog-ear your books? Not since I was twelve.

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books? Not in physical books, sometimes I’ll make notes when reading eBooks because Kindle has that great highlight/note feature.

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books? Try as I might to not, it tends to happen.

19. What is your favorite language to read? I don’t have a favorite, if I could read in another language I would.

20. What makes you love a book? After I finish reading it the story stays with me–days, weeks, even months later. You get so immersed in the world that the book has found a way under your skin.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? I try not to dissuade others from reading. We all read for different reasons. It is easy to recommend a book to a friend but harder to recommend one to strangers.

22. Favorite genre: This is tough. Classics? Maybe fantasy.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did): More nonfiction.

24. Favorite Biography: Laurie Notaro is my favorite humor/memoir/biography author. Her books make me laugh out loud.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? (And, was it actually helpful?) I can’t recall.

26. Favorite Cookbook: I suck at cooking so any cookbook that is idiot proof.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction): It wasn’t inspirational per se but creative nonetheless, Divergent by Veronica Roth.

28. Favorite reading snack: Iced coffee/latte

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience: Probably Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Don’t get me wrong, I loved it and devoured that book, but I imagined it to be so much more.

30. How often do you agree with the critics about a book? I don’t usually check. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? I try to find one thing I really liked about the book and not focus on the negatives so much. I give honest reviews but relate the reasons I found the book bad/negative back to myself.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose? Any, all of them? Ha.

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read: In 2012, I read One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez. I always find classics, like this novel, so difficult to read but once you finish the book all the trouble was worth it. This novel is amazing and so daunting.

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin: I have tried and tried to start George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series but haven’t yet. Someday.

35. Favorite Poet: Emily Dickinson.

Wild Nights

Wild nights! Wild nights!
Were I with thee,
Wild nights should be
Our luxury!
Futile the winds
To a heart in port,
Done with the compass,
Done with the chart.
Rowing in Eden!
Ah! the sea!
Might I but moor
To-night in thee!

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time? I usually only pick two, one for each week of check out. I don’t like to bogart the books from others.

37. How often do you return books to the library unread? I finish books, even when I dislike them. I always have. I hold out hope that the book will get better toward the end.

38. Favorite fictional character: This is too tough to answer. I like different characters for different reasons and I don’t think I have an ultimate favorite.

39. Favorite fictional villain: And yet this question requires little thought, Dolores Umbridge. She even freaks out Stephen King.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation: I just purchased my airline ticket last week to visit home (my version of a vacation this year) and I am already brainstorming what books to bring with me or purchase before leaving. Plus I’ll be picking up a few from home to make the return trip with me. I think a minimum of 4 is a good start plus two alternates.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading: Like a roller coaster I go through ups and downs with reading. My big reading months are May to October which is weird because when I’m trapped inside during winter you’d think I would spend that time reading more.

42. Name a book you could/would not finish: I have given up on HRC, a biography about Hillary Clinton, for the time being. I’m interested in the subject matter but it is difficult to get into this book.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading? Myself. I’m so easily distracted. I try to listen to music while reading to help tune out other bothers.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel: Pride and Prejudice was good but the Bridget Jones films were excellent. I would rather watch the film than read the book (and I enjoyed the books).

45. Most disappointing film adaptationHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite HP book so I too high of expectations for the film. I hated it.

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time: I’m not a brand new book buyer, usually. So maybe $50.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? Rarely, that’s cheating.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book? After multiple tries (double digit tries) I still can’t get into it.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized? Yes but right now it’s read and TBR.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they been read? Truly depends on the book. I’m a big fan of buy, sell, trade at used bookstores.

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding? Any on my Goodreads TBR list. It seems like I read other books first.

52. Name a book that made you angry: Picture Perfect by Alessandra Thomas. I had issues with the main character.

53. Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars, #1)A book I didn’t expect to like but did: Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard. I have only read the first book but enjoyed it. I thought I might be a bit too old to enjoy a teen teen young adult but it’s more than just high school problems, the mystery got me hooked. I am now a big fan of the show as well.

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown. I really enjoyed book 1 and 2 of Robert Langdon’s journey but the third book fell flat. I will probably read Inferno, next in the series, just because why not.

55. Favorite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading: Anything. All of the books I read are guilt free. I’m not ashamed to be caught reading, even if it is Twilight or Fifty Shades. We shouldn’t discourage readers because at least they are doing something we all love to do–read.


There you have it. I hope you enjoyed, now get offline and go read a book like I’m about to do.

A Not So Short Reading Survey

Leave a Reply

